Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Sqoop - Get Uganda entertainment news, celebrity gossip, videos and photos
Sqoop – Get Uganda entertainment news, celebrity gossip, videos and photosSqoop – Get Uganda entertainment news, celebrity gossip, videos and photos


Full List: Uganda Entertainment Awards to recognise 2016’s Finest



Apart from the much anticipated Red Carpet, Uganda Entertainment Awards (UEA’s) are grooming more room to appreciate the biggest acts in the industry. Running on the theme “My Pride is My Nominee, these awards are set to recognise some of the finest entertainers in Uganda and personalities whose contribution to several spheres of this country should not be ignored.

Adam Gashe who is nominated in the Outstanding Model category said he is excited. Despite being nominated with bigger competition like Akello Patricia, Stacy Amito and Leila Kalanguka who have more international repertoire, Gashe is proud that the industry is beginning to notice individuals who are contributing to the industry.


“These Awards are all about the Nominees” said Maliaka Nyanzi who is hosting the awards, “Not the acts or people putting it together (although they have done a massively great job) but the actual individuals who have worked hard and deserve recognition.”

But while several nominees might perform, they shall have a lot to learn from continental acts like Yemi Alade and Sauti Sol, who have graced stages beyond their mother nations.

Winnie Nwagi 's musawo song nominated for Song of the Year and Irene Ntale misses out on the nominations. Photo by Michael Kakumirizi

Winnie Nwagi ‘s musawo song nominated for Song of the Year
and Irene Ntale misses out on the nominations. Photo by Michael Kakumirizi

Malawian artiste Jaygrin and Tanzania’s Ali Kiba have also been short listed to perform. And to draw a football fan base, former Liverpool/England footballer Robbie Fowler is expected to attend.


Tickets to the event cost Shs 50,000 and Shs100,000 (ordinary and VIP respectively). Corporate tables were set at Shs 3m. There is however speculation over who shall win the awards, and by far, Sheebah Karungi who bagged artiste of the year at the Zzina Music Awards and HiPipo Music Awards is still over running the  UEA with the most nominations.

These are contested nominations among the 47 award categories.

Artist of the Year


Sheebah Karungi

Eddy Kenzo



Best Male Artist

Eddy Kenzo

Radio & Weasel

David Lutalo

A Pass

Best Female Artist

Rema Namakula

Sheebah Karungi

Stecia Mayanja

Mary Bata

Best Dance/Live Performance

Cindy Sanyu

Gravity Omutujju

Bebe Cool

Ziza Bafana

Sheebah Karungi

Best Gospel Artiste

Julie Mutesasira

Wilson Bugembe






Best Band

Quela Band

Golden Band

Cream Production

Video of the Year

Nkwatako by Sheebah Karungi

Soraye by Eddy Kenzo

African Gal by Bebe Cool

Njogereza by Navio

Kyadaaki by Iryn Namubiru

Best Breakthrough Artiste

Winnie Nwagi

Carol Nantongo

Nutty Neithan

Ryddim Galz

Song of the Year

Musawo by Winnie Nwagi

Alintwala by Stecia Mayanja

Same way by Geosteady ft Jazmine

Mu Bbara by Daxx Kartel

My Lover by Mary Bata


Best RNB Artiste

King Saha

Rema Namakula




Best Artist in Diaspora

SK Simeon

George Will Dive

C Moseh

Bella Mubiru

Best Kadongo Kamu

Mathias Walukagga

Hassan Nduga

Kazibwe Kapo

Best East African Act

Ali Kiba (Tanzania)

Sauti Sol (Kenya)

Diamond Platinumz (Tanzania)

Eddy Kenzo (Uganda)

Vanessa Mdee (MDEE

Song Writer of the Year A Pass

Ray Signature

Naava Grey

Mowzey Radio




Best African Act

Yemi Alade (Nigeria)

Diamond Platinmuz (Tanzania)

Eddy Kenzo (Uganda)

Korede Bello (Nigeria)

Wizkid (Nigeria)

Best Collaboration

Science by King Saha ft Winnie Nwagi

Same Way; Geosteady ft Lydia Jazmine

Royal; Eddy Kenzo ft Patoranking

Friendly Match; Ziza Bafana ft Zanie Brown

Best Female Entertainment TV Presenter

Flavia Namulindwa

Justine Nantume

Malaika NNyanzi

Lady Beezo




Best TV Series

The Hostel


Coffee Shop

Best Actor

Andrew Benon Kibuuka

Farouk Mutebi

Yasini Lubowa


Best Actress

Sarah Kisawuzi

Fausta Nanziri

Mariam Ndagire

Faridah Kuteesa

All Round Ent. Personality

Bobi Wine

Salvado Idringi

Andrew Benon Kibuuka

Mariam Ndagire


Best Female Sports Personality

Zaina Kagoya

Lillian Zawedde

Stella Chesang

Peace Prescovia

Best Sports Personality

Denis Onyango

Ivan Byekwaso

Ronald Otile

Solomon Mutai


Best Fashion


K Raphael Couture

Slyvia Owori

Paple Rayn



Outstanding Model

Adam Gashe

Akello Patricia

Leila Kalanguka

Meddie Lubowa

Stacy Amito


Outstanding Fashion Designer

Raphael Kasule

Martha Jambo

Anitah Berry         

Best Entertainment Wesbsite/Blog of the Year

Big Eye Ug

Enews Ug

Matooke Republic

Chano 8

Best DJ

DjRoja & Djsilck Stuart

DJ Brian

Selctor Jay


Best Audio Producer


Nash Wonder

Producer Ronnie

Best Touch



Best Music Video Producer

Grate Make

Shasha Vybz

Noltonax and Georgeous Filmz



Best Raggae Artist

Bebe Cool

A Pass



Best Dancehall Artist

Ziza Bafana

Nutty Neithan

Sheebah Karungi

Cindy Sanyu

Best TV Station


Bukedde TV

Urban TV

Channel 44


Best Entertainment TV Show

The Beat (NTV)

Full Doze (Bukedde)

Backstage Pass (Urban TV)

Best Male Entertainment TV Presenter

MC Kats

Daglous Lwanga


Remarkable TV Host

Frank Walusimbi

Simon Kaggwa Njala

Simon Muyanga Lutaaya

Samson Kasumba


Best Radio Station

Galaxy FM


Power FM

Capital FM

Sanyu FM


Best Theatre Drama Group


Fan Factory

The Sportlight-Akondolindoli


Outstanding Drama / Theatre Personality

Abbey Mukiibi

Leila Kalanzi

Sam Bagenda (Dr Bossa)

Justine Nantume

Best Male Entertainment Radio Show Host





Best Female Entertainment Radio show host

Flavia Tumusiime


Jaq Deweyi


Outstanding Female Comedian

Anne Kansiime



Remarkable Radio Presenter

Kuku Wazabanga (Kasuku)

Bina Baby

Patriko Mujuuka

Abbey Mukiibi

Omulangira Ndawusi

Best Comedy Group

Comedy Files Ug

Jazz Comedy Uganda

The spotlight akandolindoli

Fan Factory

Outstanding Male Comedian

MC Mariachi


Salvado Idringi

Mad Rat & Chiko

MC Kapale

Lifetime Achievement Award (Afrigo Band) Humanitarian Award (Angella Katatumba) UEA Nobel Award (Pr Robert Kayanja)

You May Also Like


Police in Kampala said Monday that they were investigating the cause of a fire outbreak at a building housing O’kla Club, bar, restaurant and...


  In a celebration of culture, beauty and heritage, Buganda Kingdom through the Buganda Heritage and Tourism Board (BHTB) launched the highly anticipated iss...


Even when the economy demanded more, promoters and events organisers have consistently been charging Shs20,000 and Shs50,000 as cover charges for different concerts. However,...

Four One One

Tanqueray Gin in partnership with Le Chateau Brasserie Belge wound-up valentine’s celebrations with a special brunch edition, the garden of romance bottomless experience for...