To Top

Countries that are already in 2020


New Year’s Eve fireworks erupt over Sydney’s iconic Harbour Bridge and Opera House (L) during the fireworks show on January 1, 2020. (Photo by PETER PARKS / AFP)

With 38 different local times in use, it takes 26 hours for the New Year to encompass all time zones. According to, six countries have so far already ushered in the New Year 2020. 

Samoa and Christmas Island in Kiribati were the first places in the world to enter 2020 at 1:00pm, followed by Chatham Islands at 1:15pm. 

A vendor decorates his gift shop ahead of New Year’s eve in Kuwait City on December 31, 2019. (Photo by YASSER AL-ZAYYAT / AFP)

Four cities in New Zealand, that is Auckland, Suva, Wellington, Nukualofa entered the new year at 2:00pm. 

At 3:00pm, Anadyr, Funafuti, Yaren, Tarawa, Majuro, cities in Russia joined, followed by Melbourne, Sydney, Canberra, Honiara in Australia at 4:00pm. Adelaide, Broken Hill, Ceduna, also in Australia entered the New Year at 4:30pm. 

Tomorrow afternoon at 3:00pm, Baker Island, Howland Island, which are Minor outlying Islands of the US will be the last to enter the New year. 

Find out in which order they enter 2020 and which countries are first and last, below. 

When Year 2020 Starts Around the World. A screenshot from

Above is a chronological list of when the world’s different countries arrive at midnight on New Year’s Eve and enter 1 January 2020. A screenshot from


Leave a comment

More in Four One One